top of page
Search
  • Amanda Laven

A Long Overdue Update!

Like everyone, I've been having a crazy year (or two...) Happily, though, some of that insanity has been the result of some super exciting opportunities I've had over the past couple years! I plan to write more about each of them in future posts, but for now here's a quick list of what I've been up to:


  • Coproduced BUDDIES: A Tribute to Banjo-Kazooie, which was an absolute dream project that I got to do with a dear VCFA friend, Zachary Kohlmeier!

  • Got my first AAA job as a QA tester at Vicarious Visions, working as the lead audio tester on Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 1+2!

  • Built a brand new PC to replace my 10+ year old iMac - made the switch from Logic Pro X to Reaper!

  • Completed a 6 month audio design mentorship with the head of VV's audio department, Justin Joyner! (Major level up for my sound design skills!!)

  • Had my contract extended almost half a year longer to see THPS 1+2 through to ship!

  • Got interviewed by John Bartmann of the How I Make Music podcast - Episode 94 is about my score for The Kinesigraph!

  • Provided test support for Hearthstone: Forged in the Barrens and Diablo IV for a few weeks before my contract at VV ended!


And that doesn't even include all the home improvements, studio upgrades, and craft projects I've completed in that time.

On the night of our remote launch party!

So now that my contract has ended, I'm taking some time to really focus on music and sound. I absolutely loved my time at VV and hope to return soon, but I didn't have much time to develop a workflow for music production in Reaper. I didn't even have the physical space for my MIDI controller - since the last year was spent working from home, I've had two computers, three consoles, three monitors, and a TV crowding my desk. My poor MIDI controller was stuffed in a corner out of the way all that time, and has only recently been returned to its rightful place on my desk.

I have a lot of goals for my newly available time, and I'm feeling refreshed and ready to tackle them!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page